DCPS teachers and parents it is time to stand up for your students, your schools, your job and yes your families.

Friends I was initially upset that the district went with a tax referendum rather than a millage increase but I have recently been told its the hope of both the union and the district that the referendum would be able to free up money to help address our economic issues.

Currently the thumb is on the scale with the mayor, much of the city council and the pro charter civic council all fighting against the referendum, that’s why it is up to us to make our voices heard.  If you cannot attend the council meeting on the 11th, I urge you to email the city council and the mayor and ask them to let the people of Jacksonville decide. I am confident the city will stand with our teachers, schools and children if they can only be given the opportunity.

Below is the email I sent to the city council and below that are their emails.

Hello, my name is Chris Guerrieri. I am a teacher at Palm Avenue a center school for disabled children. I have included a picture of my 40 year old air conditioner that needed to be fixed three times this year, one of the times they removed it for over a week. The maintenance staff as told me they no longer make parts for this model so they have to finagle it every time it breaks down, which is happening with more and more regularity.

Another problem is the condensation the air conditioner creates bubbles up under the floor tiles, that is the second picture. I don’t even want to think about the mold and whatever else must be down there. The thing is I have it better than a few other classes, like next door where the teacher often asks me to leave my door open so some of my air can go into her class and the portables.

I would like you to please allow DCPS to have it’s sales tax referendum put on the ballot. I am not asking you to support it, I am just asking you to allow the city to have an opportunity to support, our schools, children and teachers.

Thank You

Please let the council know they need to give the city the chance to do the right thing.

District Council Members

District 1: Joyce Morgan

Phone: (904) 630-1389
Email: JoyceMorgan@coj.net
Assistant: Chet Aikens

District 2: Al Ferraro

Phone: (904) 630-1392
Email: Ferraro@coj.net
Assistant: Connie Holt

District 3: Aaron L. Bowman

Phone: (904) 630-1386
Email: ABowman@coj.net
Assistant: Carol Brock

District 4: Scott Wilson

Phone: (904) 630-1394
Email: SWilson@coj.net
Assistant: Jackie Lee

District 5: Lori N. Boyer

Phone: (904) 630-1382
Email: LBoyer@coj.net
Assistant: Nicole Spradley

District 6: Matt Schellenberg

Phone: (904) 630-1388
Email: MattS@coj.net
Assistant: Sonia Johnson

District 7: Reggie Gaffney

Phone: (904) 630-1384
Email: RGaffney@coj.net
Assistant: Sirretta Williams

District 8: Ju’Coby Pittman 

Phone: (904) 630-1385
Email: JPittman@coj.net
Assistant: Mercedes Parker

District 9: Garrett L. Dennis

Phone: (904) 630-1395
Email: GarrettD@coj.net
Assistant: Taryn Roberts

District 10: Terrance Freeman

Phone: (904) 630-1684
Email: TFreeman@coj.net
Assistant: Gerrie Ford-Hardin 

District 11: Danny Becton

Phone: (904) 630-1383
Email: DBecton@coj.net
Assistant: Tiziana Onstead

District 12: Randy White 

Phone: (904) 630-1380
Email: RandyWhite@coj.net
Assistant: Rebekah Hagan

District 13: Bill Gulliford

Phone: (904) 630-1397
Email: Gulliford@coj.net
Assistant: Carol Harper

District 14: Jim Love

Phone: (904) 630-1390
Email: JimLove@coj.net
Assistant: Kevin Kuzel

At-Large Council Members

Group 1: Anna Lopez Brosche

Phone: (904) 630-1393
Email: ABrosche@coj.net
Assistant: Jeneen Sanders

Group 2: John R. Crescimbeni

Phone: (904) 630-1381
Email: JRC@coj.net
Assistant:  Nikki Evans

Group 3: Tommy Hazouri

Phone: (904) 630-1396
Email: THazouri@coj.net
Assistant: Tristan Denmark

Group 4: Greg Anderson

Phone: (904) 630-1398
Email: GAnderson@coj.net
Assistant: Palmer Kuder

Group 5: Samuel Newby

Phone: (904) 630-1387
Email: SNewby@coj.net
Assistant: Tracy McGeathey

Or if you wanted to email them all at once.

Friends it is time more of us stepped up.

 SNewby@coj.net GAnderson@coj.netTHazouri@coj.net,  JRC@coj.net,
ABrosche@coj.net,   JoyceMorgan@coj.net,  Ferraro@coj.netABowman@coj.net,
SWilson@coj.net,  LBoyer@coj.net,  MattS@coj.net  JPittman@coj.net,
GarrettD@coj.net,   TFreeman@coj.net,  DBecton@coj.net,  RandyWhite@coj.net,
 Gulliford@coj.netJimLove@coj.net

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *